Sun, 04 Jun 2023

Caitlin Clark, Aliyah Boston lead Wooden Award finalists

Field Level Media
31 Mar 2023, 13:19 GMT+10

Iowa's Caitlin Clark and South Carolina's Aliyah Boston -- who will face each other in the women's Final Four -- were among five players named Thursday to the Wooden All-American team, making them finalists for the John R. Wooden Award.

Joining Clark and Boston on the team and as finalists for the award, given to the country's best college basketball player, were Stanford's Cameron Brink, Indiana's Mackenzie Holmes and Villanova's Maddy Siegrist. The Wooden Award will be presented April 3 at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

Clark, a junior, was named Associated Press Player of the Year earlier Thursday after previously receiving recognition as Naismith Player of the Year and Big Ten Player of the Year.

Clark is averaging 27.3 points, 8.6 assists and 7.3 rebounds per game this season. She logged 41 points, 10 rebounds and 12 assists in a 97-83 win over Louisville on Sunday that sent Iowa to the Final Four. In that win, she became the first player (man or woman) in Division I history to log a 40-point triple-double in the NCAA Tournament, and she became the first to tally 900 points and 300 assists in a season.

Clark and the Hawkeyes will face Boston's Gamecocks in a national semifinal game on Friday in Dallas. Boston also was named Naismith Defensive Player of the Year and the SEC Player of the Year. She averages 13.2 points, 9.8 rebounds and 2.0 blocks per game.

Brink was Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, Holmes was Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and Siegrist was Big East Player of the Year.

--Field Level Media

Sign up for Boston News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!